Clear The Air News Tobacco Blog Rotating Header Image

World No Tobacco Day 2011 Awards – the winners

World No Tobacco Day 2011 Awards – the winners

Tobacco Free Initiative (TFI)

Every year, WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. This recognition takes the form of WHO Director-General Special Recognition Awards, World No Tobacco Day Awards, and in 2011, one WHO Director-General’s Special Recognition Certificate.

WHO Director-General Special awards

  • His Excellency the Prime Minister George A. Papandreou, Greece
  • Dr York Yat-ngok CHOW, GBS JP, Secretary for Food and Health, China, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

WHO Director-General’s Special Recognition certificate

  • The Honourable Nicola Roxon MP, Minister for Health and Ageing, Australia

African Region awardees

  • Associação para a Defesa do Consumidor, la République du Cap-Vert
  • M. Ibrahima Sory Cisse, Président – Fondateur de GENERATION SANS TABAC, la République de Guinée
  • M. Haja Ramamonjisoa, Président de NY SAHY, la République de Madagascar
  • Dr Dionko Maoundé, Conseiller juridique du Ministre de la Santé Publique, la République du Tchad
  • M. Ebeh Adayade Kodjo, Directeur exécutif de l’Alliance Nationale des Consommateurs et de l’Environnement, la République Togolaise
  • Mr Killian Manyengawana, Graphic artist for Blue Africa LTD Company, the Republic of Zimbabwe

Region of the Americas awardees

  • Chile Libre de Tabaco, República de Chile
  • Ministerio de Salud del Perú y Comisión Nacional Permanente de Lucha Antitabáquica (COLAT), República del Peru
  • Framework Convention Alliance (FCA), the United States of America

Eastern Mediterranean Region awardees

  • Dr Mariam Al-Jalahma, Assistant Undersecretary for Primary Care and Public Health, the Kingdom of Bahrain
  • Dr Hamdy El Sayed, Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery, Head of the Egyptian Medical Syndicate, the Arab Republic of Egypt
  • Dr Alireza Mesdaghinia, Deputy for Health, Ministry of Health and Medical Education, the Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Mrs Mawya Zawawi Hammad, Founder and General Director, Lina and Green Hand Society, the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
  • Dr Jawad Ahmed Al Lawati, Director of Non-Communicable Diseases Department, Ministry of Health, the Sultanate of Oman
  • Dr Alaa Aldeen Abdalla Abo Zed, Associated Professor, Faculty of Medicine, Khartoum University, the Republic of the Sudan

European Region awardees

  • Action on Smoking and Health, the United Kingdon of Great Britain and Northen Ireland
  • Ms Fiona Godfrey, Regional Advisor, International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease
  • European Network for Smoking and Tobacco Prevention
  • Smoke Free Partnership
  • German Cancer Research Centre, the Federal Republic of Germany

South-East Asia Region awardees

  • His Excellency Lyonpo Zangley Dukpa, Minister for Health, the Kingdom of Bhutan
  • Salaam Bombay Foundation, Mumbai, the Republic of India
  • Dr Ing. H. Fauzi Bowo, Governor, Jakarta (Special Capital Territory) Provincial Government, the Republic of Indonesia
  • Her Excellency Dr Aminath Jameel, Minister of Health and Family, the Republic of Maldives
  • Ministry of Health and Population, the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
  • His Excellency Mr Jurin Laksanawisit, Minister of Public Health, the Kingdom of Thailand

Western Pacific Region awardees

  • His Excellency Dr Mam Bun Heng, Minister of Health, the Kingdom of Cambodia
  • Dr Ly Ngoc Kinh, Senior Consultant and Former Director, Standing Office of Viet Nam Steering Committee on Smoking and Health (VINACOSH), Ministry of Health, the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam
  • Framework Convention on Tobacco Control Alliance Philippines, the Republic of Philippines

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>